Faculty Academy Members

section heading

National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.
For more information, visit

John Avise, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 1991

Michael Cahalan, Physiology & Biophysics, 2010

Michael Clegg (emeritus), Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 1990

Barbara Dosher, Cognitive Sciences, 2011

Ellen Druffel, Earth System Science, 2020

Greg Duncan, Education, 2010

Barbara Finlayson-Pitts (emerita), Chemistry, 2006

Zachary Fisk (emeritus), Physics & Astronomy, 1996

Wilson Ho, Physics & Astronomy, 2013

Anthony James, Molecular Biology & Biochemistry, 2006

Elizabeth Loftus, Psychology & Social Behavior, 2004

James McGaugh (emeritus), Neurobiology & Behavior, 1989

Shaul Mukamel, Chemistry, 2015

Larry Overman (emeritus), Chemistry, 1996

Krzysztof Palczewski, Ophthalmology, Physiology, and Biophysics, 2022

James Randerson, Earth System Science, 2017

Eric Rignot, Earth System Science, 2018

Donald G. Saari (emeritus), Economics and Mathematics, 2001

Richard Schoen, Mathematics, 1991

Brian Skyrms, Logic & Philosophy of Science, 1999

George Sperling (emeritus), Cognitive Sciences, 1985

Susan Trumbore, Earth System Science, 2010

Steven R. White, Physics & Astronomy, 2018

National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. In addition to its role as advisor to the federal government, the NAE also conducts independent studies to examine important topics in engineering and technology. The academy has more than 2,000 peer-elected members and foreign associates, senior professionals in business, academia, and government who are among the world's most accomplished engineers.
For more information, visit

Nicolaos G. Alexopoulos (emeritus), Electrical Engineering, 2007

Alfredo Ang (emeritus), Civil & Environmental Engineering, 1976

Diran Apelian, Materials Science and Engineering, 2009

Satya Atluri, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, 1996

Michael Carey, Computer Science, 2002

Said Elghobashi (emeritus), Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, 2014

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou, Civil & Environmental Engineering, 2018

Enrique Lavernia (emeritus), Materials Science and Engineering, 2013

Robert Liebeck, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, 1992

Farzad Naeim, Civil and Environmental Engineering, 2022

Judith Olson (emerita), Information & Computer Sciences, 2018

Henry Samueli, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, 2003

Julie Schoenung (emerita), Materials Science and Engineering, 2022

William A. Sirignano, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, 2002

Soroosh Sorooshian, Civil & Environmental Engineering, 2003

Bruce Tromberg, Surgery and Biomedical Engineering, 2024

H. Kumar Wickramasinghe, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, 1998

Fan-Gang Zeng, Professor, Otolaryngology and Director, Center for Hearing Research, 2023

National Academy of Medicine

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) recognizes eminent professionals from diverse fields including health and medicine; the natural, social, and behavioral sciences; and beyond. Through its domestic and global initiatives, the NAM works to address critical issues in health, medicine, and related policy and inspire positive action across sectors.
For more information, visit

Kyriacos A. Athanasiou, Biomedical Engineering, 2020

William E. Bunney (emeritus), Psychiatry & Social Behavior, 1986

Zang-Hee Cho (emeritus), Radiological Sciences, 1997

Michael Drake (emeritus), Ophthalmology, 1998

Sheldon Greenfield, Medicine, 1996

Krzysztof Palczewski, Ophthalmology, 2019

Julian F. Thayer, Psychological Science, 2023

National Academy of Education

The National Academy of Education (NAEd) advances the highest quality research to improve education policy and practice. The NAEd consists of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education.
For more information, visit

Greg Duncan, Education, 2009

Jacquelynne Eccles, Education, 1998

Rubén Rumbaut, Sociology, 2013

Deborah Vandell (emerita), Education, 2014

Mark Warschauer, Education, 2020

American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an honorary society that recognizes achievement in the natural sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
For more information, visit

John Avise (emeritus), Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 1994

Jeffrey Barrett, Logic & Philosophy of Science, 2022

Albert Bennett (emeritus), Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 1994

Adriana D. Briscoe, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 2022

Thomas J. Carew (emeritus), Neurobiology & Behavior, 2004

Leo Chavez, Anthropology, 2023

Michael Clegg (emeritus), Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 1992

Michael Drake (emeritus), Ophthalmology, 2007

Greg Duncan, Education, 2001

Barbara Finlayson-Pitts (emerita), Chemistry, 2006

Zachary Fisk (emeritus), Physics & Astronomy, 1994

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou, Civil & Environmental Engineering, 2022

Steven Frank, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 2012

Benny Gerber (emeritus), Chemistry, 2016

Margaret Gilbert, Philosophy, 2016

Bernard Grofman (emeritus), Political Science, 2001

Judith Kroll, Language Science, 2021

Peter Wai-Kwong Li (emeritus), Mathematics, 2007

Elizabeth Loftus, Psychology & Social Behavior, 2003

Penelope Maddy, Logic & Philosophy of Science, 1998

David Malament (emeritus), Logic & Philosophy of Science, 1992

James McGaugh (emeritus), Neurobiology & Behavior, 1992

Shaul Mukamel, Chemistry, 2013

Larry Overman (emeritus), Chemistry, 1996

Yvonne Rainer (emeritus), Studio Art, 2007

Vicki Ruiz (emerita), History, 2012

Rubén Rumbaut, Sociology, 2015

Donald Saari (emeritus), Economics, Mathematics, 2004

Henry Samueli, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, 2004

Richard Schoen, Mathematics, 1988

Roxane Cohen Silver, Psychological Science, 2024

Brian Skyrms, Logic & Philosophy of Science, 1994

George Sperling (emeritus), Cognitive Sciences, 1992

Edward E. TellesSociology, 2018

Ngugi wa Thiong'o, English, Comparative Literature, 2014

Virginia L. Trimble, Physics and Astronomy, 2022

Steven White, Physics & Astronomy, 2016

Clare Yu, Physics & Astronomy, 2019

National Academy of Inventors

The National Academy of Inventors® is a member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes, with over 4,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide.
For more information, visit

Diran Apelian, Materials Science and Engineering, 2017

Plamen B. Atanassov, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, 2017

Kyriacos Athanasiou, Biomedical Engineering, 2014

Howard Federoff (emeritus), Neurology, 2012

Philip Felgner, Physiology and Biophysics, 2022

Charles Glabe, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, 2020

Payam Heydari, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2022

Michelle Khine, Biomedical Engineering, 2016

Enrique Lavernia (emeritus), Materials Science and Engineering, 2016

Guann-Pyng (G.P.) Li, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2023

Abraham Lee, Biomedical Engineering, 2018

Marc Madou (emeritus), Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, 2014

Thomas Milner, Surgery, 2015

David Reinkensmeyer, Anatomy and Neurobiology and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, 2023

Henry Samueli, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2017

Julie Schoenung (emeritus), Materials Science and Engineering, 2021

Andrei Shkel, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, 2021

H. Kumar Wickramasinghe (emeritus), Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2013